I started this blog early last year. 100 posts later, it has been an amazing journey!  This blog was born because I wanted to write.  I also wanted an outlet to express my views or opinions on medications, our health care system or simply documenting anything related to my career in pharmacy.

Here are few things I got out of blogging:

  1. I learn to see my patients as individuals.  Many bloggers have chronic diseases, but they all have individual stories to tell, pain to share, lives to live. I appreciate their perspectives; it helps me to realize my ignorance or how little I am or my limited ability to help. It helps me to see them beyond the medication profiles that I often come to associate with my patients. There are more to their lives than pills.
  2. The blogging community is awesome. I have gained some blogging friends via the cyperspace who are supportive – I enjoy reading their thoughts, their stories, their sense of humour. Some can craft beautiful poems and prose. Many also acknowledge my pain, my presence. A simple “like” on my post can just brighten my day.
  3. Blogging is therapeutic. Blogging or writing is therapeutic to me. If I need to step away from a stressful or boring situation, I turn to blogging. Perhaps the process of writing helps me to put some clarity in my thoughts and so I always find myself feeling recharged after completing a blog post.
  4. I continue to learn the art and science of blogging.  There is so much to learn about blogging. You can learn to blog to optimize traffic using strategic keywords, releasing blog posts at the right time or right day of the week. You can find captivating images to uplift your posts.  You can do many things. That’s the creative side of blogging that I enjoy. I think the inner me enjoys creativity and blogging is an avenue for me to bring my creative expression to life.
  5. My love for photography has returned.  Knowing that adding a great image to my post is important to bring the post to life, I have been digging at my old photos that I have taken many years ago. I am starting to run out of great images to share. So I have started taking pictures – mostly still-life or landscape images that I come across everyday. Can’t wait to share these images in my posts.
  6. I continue to explore what I should write, experimenting with the different posts. I find that many friends and acquaintances enjoy a good story but a well written informative post on a new medication or a clinical update will pick up consistent traffic over time.

I also want to thank my readers, my followers and everyone who has visited, shared or commented on my blog in the last year. I plan to continue to blog consistently in the coming year. Please share your feedback with me and let me know what you enjoy reading – a good story, a review of a new medication or clinical update and / or other suggestions you have!

 

 

