February is the month to celebrate love. It is also Heart Awareness Month.  I casually asked my husband what I should write in my blog. After all, he is a cardiologist and should know a thing or two about the heart.  He suggested  that I should talk about how I end up falling in love with him.  I said no thanks. 🙂 But before I digress further, “love your heart” is what I want to discuss today. Do you know heart disease continues to affect many Canadian lives?

infographic-2-01

And more importantly, do you know if you are at risk for heart disease?

There are well established risk factors that have been shown to increase the risk of developing heart disease.  Ones that we can’t do much about include age, gender and family history.   There are also modifiable risk factors that we can minimize; these include high blood pressure, high blood cholesterol, physical inactivity, obesity, diabetes and smoking.

risk-factors
Source: Active Heart Health

If you are interested to assess your individual risk for developing heart disease, please click here. It will take you to a risk assessment questionnaire developed by the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada.

So, what can you do to have a healthier heart?

I found the following infographic very helpful to summarize seven simple steps that you can take to be heart healthy.

7-steps-stroke_infograph
Source: Every Day Health

These actions are not rocket science but do require commitment and motivation. Just imagine yourself taking at least 5 -6 pills per day after a potential heart attack, needing to abruptly change your lifestyle, limiting yourself to many activities that you may not be able to do anymore.  These simple steps are a small investment in your health.

So I hope everyone will take a look at these 7 steps to see how they can incorporate now to love your heart and to foster a healthier heart!

 

